Juan Carlos Rodríguez president of Univision Deportes
Premios Univision Deportes celebrates 5th Anniversary by honoring unsung champions
13 de diciembre de 2018

The 5th edition of Premios Univisión Deportes will honor five outstanding Hispanic men and women who changed their lives through sports and have made a difference in their communities. The show will air on Sunday, December 16 at 10pm ET/7pm PT (9pm CT) on Univision and UDN, immediately after the Liga MX final.

These unsung champions will receive special recognition for being symbols of bravery, collaboration, determination, sacrifice, and self-improvement. Renowned athletes and people who have had an impact on the lives of each honoree will present them with the coveted trophies, while Univision Deportes personalities will announce each category by sharing personal anecdotes that reflect the values each of the honorees represents.

"We are proud to honor unsung Hispanic heroes for whom sports have played a special role in their lives. These champions have made extraordinary contributions to help improve the lives of others in Mexico, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Sports is an agent for social change, and we’re excited to celebrate the fifth anniversary of Premios Univision Deportes, by recognizing our people and the positive impact of sports in their lives,” said Juan Carlos Rodríguez president of Univision Deportes.

The five profiles that will be recognized by Premios Univision Deportes this year are: Bravery Award – María Zayas, baseball pitcher in Salinas, Puerto Rico; Collaboration Award – Dixiana Mena, from San José, Costa Rica; Determination Award – Gran Cochisse, a retired wrestler born in Guadalajara, Mexico; Sacrifice Award – José González, from Los Angeles, California and Self-Improvement Award – Carlos Vázquez, from Monterrey, Mexico.

Related News

https;