Manuel Martínez, president, Telemundo Station Group

Telemundo Station Group announces major local news expansion
18 de septiembre de 2014

The Telemundo Station Group announced an expansion of its local news programming, unveiling plans to launch a new 30-minute newscast weekdays at 5:30pm ET/4:30pm CT beginning Monday, November 3 at 14 of its stations. The expansion will result in viewers receiving an additional 150 minutes of local breaking news coverage and up-to-the-minute weather reports each week in their markets. To support this initiative, the Telemundo Station Group expects to immediately hire nearly 30 additional employees to boost the local newsrooms. “Today’s announcement marks a new era for the Telemundo Station Group and Spanish-language news. All of our stations have a commitment to deliver the best local breaking news and weather to our viewers and this expansion will help us deliver the type of news coverage our viewers demand and deserve,” said Manuel Martínez, president, Telemundo Station Group. Complementing the Telemundo Station Group news expansion, Telemundo Network’s afternoon schedule will shift to offer its viewers the news and entertainment even earlier in the day. The network’s daily entertainment show Suelta la Sopa will now air at 2pm ET/1pm CT; Caso Cerrado will now air at 3pm ET/2pm CT; Al Rojo Vivo con María Celeste will air at 4pm ET/3pm CT; and The Best of Caso Cerrado, will air at 5pm ET/4pm CT. “We are thrilled to partner with our stations across the country to offer our viewers the national news and entertainment they have come to love even earlier,” said Luis Silberwasser, president, Telemundo Network.
https;